Directionally Challenged?

Sunday, I finally got around to painting the compass at the end of my hallway. It’s a project I’ve been wanting to do for a few months, so I was glad I finally got around to it.1127161816

I wanted the color to be kind of like sepia, so I used Burnt Umber. It looks like henna to me, so I like it.

I was originally going to add some words, then was hesitant because I really liked how it turned out, but now I’m leaning towards adding words again. I was thinking of using C.S. Lewis’s line “Not all those who wander are lost.” We’ll see.

This project was a little less art than it was math. I had to do all sorts of math to get the lines right. I used a ruler and a level. I even had to get the Fireman’s help with drawing the circle. I sketched it out on paper, shown in the photo, then drew it out with the ruler on the wall, with a pencil, then painted over it. I don’t normally like to draw it out in pencil. I much prefer chalk, but this wall was really bumpy and the lines had to be perfect, so I used pencil and had to soap up the wall after to clean off stray lines.

I used my very thinnest paint brush and had to do one inch strokes, so it took a bit of time, but it was worth it. I am happy with it turned out. I actually like seeing it there on the wall more than I thought I would, so it’s been a good result!

That’s all I have for this one. I’ll update more if I add the words!

Posted in: Art

Leave a Reply

