Chicken Tortilla Soup in the Crockpot

You know when you’re sitting at the Doctor’s office, waiting to see your Doctor, and you’re flipping through a magazine? You are reading an article, cause you don’t just look through it for the hair, clothes and hot guys, duh… and you turn the page…and it’s gone? Someone ripped it out!

Well, I was at the Doctor’s office a couple of weeks back. And. I did that. Not that reading the article and missing pages. Come on, the celebrity sightings are the best part! Nope, I ripped out a page. It was a recipe and I didn’t have any time to write it down. I knew I was next. I know! I’m one of those people!

I apologize.

I’ll make it up to you by sharing what I came up with from that recipe.

Crockpot soup. Right on!

This couldn’t be easier. Mix it up in the crockpot the night before, stick it in the fridge. When you get up for work the next day, plug it in, turn it on low and walk out the door. When you get home, all you have to do is lightly shred the chicken. It’s super, crazy tender and takes, like 5 minutes. Tops. Voila! Dinner done did!

I used 4 frozen chicken breasts. Over them pour diced tomatoes, green chile peppers, a diced onion, red enchilada sauce, garlic, chicken broth, cumin, chili powder, salt, pepper, black beans, a bay leaf and some cilantro. DONE!

This is what you come home to.
010813171558

Then, take the chicken breasts out and shred them with two forks. I’m tellin’ you. This is cake work.
010813171447

Toss the chicken back into the crockpot and you’re ready to serve!

I took out a few corn tortillas and cut them into thin slices, then cut them lengthwise, so they were shorter. I also got out shredded cheese and sour cream. Avacados or lime wedges would have been good as well.
010813185646

It’s not super duper hot, but you could make it hotter if you’d like with more chili powder, more diced green chiles or hot sauce.
EVERYone in the family liked it. For. Real.

Also, you could cut the chicken broth to one can and serve this on tortillas.

The Recipe:
Chicken Tortilla Soup in a Crockpot

4 frozen chicken breasts
1 diced onion
1 can diced tomatoes
1 (4 oz) can of chopped green chile peppers
1 can (15 oz) mild red enchilada sauce (the off brand is fine)
1 clove of minced garlic (I used 1/2 tsp canned minced)
2 cans (14.5 oz) chicken broth
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1 bay leaf
1 can black beans (rinsed)
1/2 tsp dried cilantro (or 1/4 cup fresh chopped)

Lay the frozen chicken breasts in the bottom of your crockpot. Top with everything. Refridgerate the crockpot lining (if it removes) overnight if desired. Cook on low for 7-9 hours. Remove chicken breasts and lightly shred with two forks. Return meat to soup and serve.
Top with shredded chicken, sliced corn tortilla chips, sour cream, avacados or lime wedges.
Enjoy!

One thought on “Chicken Tortilla Soup in the Crockpot

  1. Jana H. says:

    Shame, shame. LOL

    This sounds good, though. PW has a tortillia soup recipe in her latest book but I haven’t tried it. The list of ingredients completely intimidates my shopping budget. haha

Leave a Reply

