Christmas planning

So, I have this amazing caramel bar recipe that I’ve been meaning to post, but I haven’t had the time for a full, picture crazy post. So, I figured I’d just come and chat instead.

I know, you’re disappointed.

The bars were really good, though. I’ll get to them soon.

I have this weekend set for my cinnamon roll baking. I make rolls and rings for the neighbors, a big one for work and a big one for home. The kiddos love them.

This year, the girl is spending Christmas in Florida with her dad. She requested beignet’s for her ‘Christmas’ morning with us. So, the next Saturday, I’m making beignet’s in the morning.

I have nearly all my Christmas shopping done, and only half the wrapping done. But I feel really good about this year. I’ve enjoyed it. The fireman has been a big help with picking things up, planning things, and just general Christmas ‘stuff’. I really am enjoying our tree with the birds on it. I really love how we loop garlands around our barn beams in the livingroom.

This Friday, I have off again. The fireman and I are running around getting the last few things, and stopping for a leisurely lunch, with gasp, maybe a drink. Cause it’s Christmas ya’ll.

At work today, my group went to Panera’s for lunch. I had a big steaming bowl of creamy tomato soup. I was proud of myself for only ordering that. It was so good, too! We normally only go out to lunch on Friday’s and take 30 minute lunches to leave earlier, but we just enjoyed the day. I bought these nice pre-wrapped boxes of Belgium chocolate truffles at Sam’s club for $10 each for my work ladies. Only three of them, so no big spending. But they’re so pretty! I love Sam’s.

Oh, and the girl got her cast off last Friday. She got the first one off after 3 weeks, then got a waterproof/removable one after that. More like a brace. It’s off, too and she’s good to go. Doesn’t seem like it was that long ago.

I got my Christmas cards all addressed and written in. I just didn’t have it in me to write a Christmassy letter. Couldn’t come up with all the stuff to put in it. Oh well. I know, I have the new job and all, but I couldn’t figure out what else to write. So, I hand wrote a few notes and just wrote Merry Christmas in the rest. Done!

Well, that’s about all I got tonight. Gonna get the girl finished with her homework and showers done. Maybe we’ll have time for a Hallmark Christmas movie. We are DVRing those again this year. Love them!

 

One thought on “Christmas planning

  1. Jana H. says:

    Yay! So glad the girl is all healed up and cast-free! 🙂

    Kuddos on your Christmas shopping prowess. 😉 I, too, am almost finished. I’ve just got to get the stinky BIL’s something. They’re so hard to shop for.

    Have fun on your Friday off with The Fireman. 🙂

Leave a Reply

