Soft Pumpkin Cookies

These are my mom’s pumpkin cookies. I mean, they’re my cookies, but my mom’s recipe.

They’re my favorite because they’re tender, soft and sweet, like little cakes.I made a double batch, cause these go really quickly in my house.

They only take a cup of pumpkin, cup of butter and cup of sugar. I creamed the butter and sugar, then added the egg.

It’s a pretty simple recipe. Then you add pumpkin, mix and add 1 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp cinnamon.

Isn’t that crazy easy? I can almost recite it upon memory, with the one cup, one cup, one cup, one tsp, one tsp, one tsp.

It’s like a song…..

of cookies!

It’s pretty and smells great in here right about now.

Then, just scoop and bake.

One of my favorite parts of this recipe is that the icing uses brown sugar, so it tastes maple-y. Well, actually molasses-y, but to me it seems maple-y.

The fireman says it tastes caramel-y.

I let the cookies cool for a few minutes, then ice them while they are still slightly warm. The butter melts into the cookie a little and when it dries it’s a nice pretty glaze.

See? Tasty and pretty.

And since it has pumpkin in it, it counts as a vegetable, right? Use the leftover pumpkin, mixed with cream cheese, powdered sugar and cinnamon for sweet bagel spread! Yeah!

Or pancake spread.

Or toast spread.

Or tongue spread.

The kids eat these as fast as I can ice them.

You’ll want to make two batches.

The Recipe:

Soft Pumpkin Cookies
1 cup melted butter (I used margerine)
1 cup sugar ( I used half sugar, half baking sweetener)
1 cup canned pumpkin
1 egg
Stir these ingredients together.
1 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg (optional)
2 cups flour (I used whole white wheat)
Mix well
Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes on a greased pan.
Ice while slightly warm.
Icing: 3 Tbl melted margerine, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 cup powdered sugar, 4 tsp milk, 1/2 cup brown sugar (add milk or powdered sugar to thin or thicken to spreadable consistency depending on humidity)
 

 

 

Leave a Reply

