French Toast Sticks

No, I didn’t make these last night. I’m still laid up on the couch. In true couch potato form. I made these, like weeks ago and am just now posting.

Why? Cause I forgot.

They were really wonderful, though.

It was one of those nights where the fireman and I were eating leftovers and there wasn’t enough for the kids, they didn’t want it anyway. It wasn’t a big deal dinner, just a get something together dinner. I was throwing out ideas to the kids, like grilled cheese and soup, or ham and cheese panini’s. Then, I thought, or maybe pancakes or waffles?

The girl says, “french toast sticks!” It’s her favorite at school.

I thought, “um, well, cause, oh, okay!” and figured it wouldn’t be that hard.

So, I just started with a normal french toast batter, dipped the bread very well, 5-10 seconds each side, and fried it in a hot skillet.

Then, once they were all cooked, I just used a knife and cut them into four long strips, about an inch wide.

Then, I brushed them with butter and dunked into cinnamon and sugar.

Then, to get them all crispy, I just popped them onto a foil lined cookie sheet and baked for 5-10 minutes.

Serve with warm maple syrup. The kiddos were thrilled. And they were really easy to make. And fun, too. Come on, it’s involving sugar, how could it NOT be fun?

Just your measurements to fit how many you want to make.

 French Toast Sticks
5 slices bread  (I used Roman Meal)
3 eggs
1/4 cup milk (I used 1%)
1 tsp vanilla
dash salt
1/2 sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
butter or margerine for spreading
 
Mix eggs, milk, vanilla and salt. Soak bread in egg mixture 5-10 seconds each side, then fry in a hot oiled skillet until lightly browned, about 2-3 minutes per side. Repeat until all slices are cooked. Cut fried bread into 4 slices, then use a pastry brush to butter the slices, then dip into cinnamon sugar mixture. Note- you can melt the butter and then dip the slices into it and then the cinnamon sugar mixture.
Place slices on a foil covered cookie sheet and bake at 375 for 5-10 minutes.
Serve with warm maple syrup.
Enjoy!
 
 
 
 
One thought on “French Toast Sticks

  1. Jana H. says:

    Mmmmm…these look and sound yummy. I, too, love French toast sticks. I’ve never tried making them from scratch but now I might. If I ever buy bread and eggs again, that is. 😉

Leave a Reply

