Cinnamon Coffee Cake

This is the another star of the show from my big Saturday breakfast with the parents. It always goes over well. I figured that since it’s so good, and fairly easy, I would make the mix for another batch and store it. That way I can whip it up fast for the kiddos before school, or fast to take in to work some morning.

Also, I got this recipe from my mom and haven’t changed it one bit. My mom has THE BEST recipes. Ever.

You just mix up some flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Then pour in some milk, an egg and melted margerine.

Mix it up and pour into a greased round layer pan (or 9×9 square pan). Then you mix up your topping. The topping is just brown sugar, cinnamon, melted margerine and nuts (if you want them). Mix this together well and spoon it in chunks on top of the cake mixture.

You can spread it around a bit on top to spread out the goodness, or you can take a knife and swirl it down into the cake a bit. I just did the top this time.

Then bake it for 25 minutes. While it’s baking mix up a quick powdered sugar glaze.

When it comes out of the oven, pour the icing over the top immediately and let it sink in.

Yes, it is as good as it looks.

Feel free to drool. Profusely.

The Recipe:

Cinnamon Coffee Cake

1 1/2 cup flour (I used whole white wheat)
3/4 cup sugar
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup margerine – melted
3/4 cup milk ( I used 1 %)
1 egg
 
-Grease round layer pan or 9×9 square pan. Mix all ingredients and pour in.
 
Topping- 1/2 brown sugar, 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 cup nuts (optional) 2 Tbl melted margerine, mix and spoon on top of cake mixture. Spread out a bit or use a knife and swirl into batter.
 
Bake at 375 for 25 minutes.
 
Make a glaze with 1 cup powdered sugar, 2 Tbl milk, 1 Tbl margerine. Use more powdered sugar or more milk to thin or thicken. Pour glaze over cake as soon as it comes out of the oven.
 
Enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Coffee Cake

  1. Jana H. says:

    YUM. I love cinnamon stuff and this sounds so easy! Definitely will hafta try this–after I buy some eggs and milk. 😉 I never have those two things on hand. I am lame.

    Oh, but girl! I made cinnamon chip scones for breakfast yesterday and they were SO GOOD. Have you seen the cinnamon chips in the baking aisle? I just found them last weekend so of course I had to get a bag. Made the scones using Heather’s Dish’s recipe for “scone for one.” Added the cinn chips and some chopped pecans, covered in a glaze and Oh. Emm. Gee. YUM.

Leave a Reply

