Sausage Casserole

I had a variation of this at a work potluck a couple of weeks back. By the way, how awesome are potlucks? They’re like a conglomeration of everyone’s favorite foods. Perfection in buffets. Love. It.

Anyway, someone brought this casserole, and of course, I had to change it. Don’t I always?

My parents came down last Saturday for the day. We met for breakfast and then went to one of the town festivals nearby. I love how all the small towns around us have festivals. The fireman and I said that next year we will try to look them all up early and write them in on the calendar. Cause you look them up and some of them are already done! I hate missing a fun time. This one was a pumpkin festival, and always late summer. They have pumpkin pie, bars, ice cream, and even chili and tacos. Sounds like a good time to me.

So, we made up a pound of bacon and maple sausages, then I made this sausage casserole and a cinnamon coffee cake (which I’ll show you guys later this week). My mom brought a Paula Deen’s Pumpkin bundt cake. It was delish, too.

You start with 2 pounds of Jimmy Dean sausage, browned up, then stir in 1 1/2 packages of lowfat cream cheese. It helps if the sausage is still a little warm to soften the cream cheese.

Then, take a package of crescent rolls. If you can find the new garlic butter ones, they are soooo amazing with this. Otherwise, just use original or butter flavor. You could add 1/2 tsp of garlic to the cream cheese if you can’t find the garlic butter crescent rolls. Press it down in a greased 9×13 pan.

If you have a 9 year old to help you, even better.

Then, just spread your cream cheese-sausage mixture on top of it.

I know, that was really hard wasn it?

Not really.

Then, top it with 2 cups of cheddar cheese and bake it!

Easy peasy.

Check out this oven!

That’s a lot of meat in there.

Here’s our lovely spread. We had a big cast iron dish of scrambled eggs on the stove, too.

I know, my kitchen stinks. But that’s ok. It’s the only room that we haven’t remodelled. Cause it’s the most expensive and the most important.

We’ll get to that next year.

Yep, that’s good eats!

The Recipe:

Sausage Casserole:

2 lbs sausage ( I used Jimmy Deans)
1 1/2 pkg of cream cheese (12 oz)
1 pkg crescent rolls ( I used garlic butter flavored)
2 cups (8 oz) sharp cheddar cheese
opt. 1/2 tsp garlic powder if you’re using regular crescent rolls
 
Brown sausage, drain grease. Add cream cheese until mixed well. Spread one can of crescent rolls out in a greased 9×13 pan. Spread sausage mixture over the crescent rolls and top with the cheese. Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes or until the cheese turns golden.
 
Enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Sausage Casserole

  1. Jana H. says:

    I’ve actually made a variation of this and you’re right…it IS yum. The variation I make has another layer of cressent dough on top of the cheese. And a friend of mine splits the sausage cream cheese mixture in half and then rolls it in the crescents like long logs and then slices and bakes to make sausage rolls. Either way you do it, cream cheese, sausage and crescent rolls together? Total win! Also? Totally drooling over that bacon on the plate. I NEED some bacon. 😀

    I’m a terrible sport. I always make note of the festivals in order to AVOID them. LOL All the towns around me have a couple of festivals a year, it seems, and I’m sure they’re fun. But the congested traffic and all those people crammed in to the tiny downtown areas are misery to a recluse like me. lol Yes, I’m weird but you already knew that. haha

  2. JenMarie's Cafe says:

    Yeah, the original had rolls on top. I was trying to cut some of the carbs. And I didn’t miss it! 🙂 Soooo good, though, right?
    How funny about avoiding the festivals. LOL But I have kids. They LOVE these things. The fireman and I went to the pumpkin festival by ourselves first when we were dating. I remember it was rainy and muddy out and he wiped the mud splatters off my legs with his jacket…..love at first sight… 🙂 hehe

Leave a Reply

