Chocolate Chip Cookies with Garbanzo Beans

Today was one of those easy days. The girl had a friend stay the night before and the fireman got up early with them to fix them breakfast. I slept in a bit, since I had been busy with them the night before. Ushering them to bed around midnight….I know, I’m a softy.

They were doing make-up! That’s like, totally important. And I had chocolate chip cookies in the oven. I will admit they were the break and bake kind, though…not homemade.

So Sunday, I decided to bake a batch of homemade chocolate chip cookies, but I wanted to see if I could make them a little healthier. Which was good, cause we ended up going out to see Bourne Legacy and eating our weight in movie popcorn covered with the Nacho Cheese shaker seasoning.

By the way, do they put crack in that Nacho Cheese flavoring? Cause I can’t stop. I shake a months worth of sodium onto the bucket of popcorn, then shake it, then add another months worth of sodium. I do this, three to four times until it’s saturated with enough Nacho Cheese flavoring. Then, it’s sufficient.

But I’m getting off track. I have tried using garbanzo beans in chocolate chip cookies before, but as a deep dish cookie thing and with oats, all blended together, but it was way mealy and not tasty. So, I thought I’d try it again without the oats, and I was pleased with the results.

It’s a little more cakey of a cookie, but when they come straight out of the oven, they are nice and gooey with melty chocolate. I replaced half the sugar with sweetener to reduce the carb and calorie count. They’re about halfway to healthy. But all the way is just no fun. It’s dessert folks, you gotta decide how much stretch you’re willing to go. And this one worked for me. I think it tastes more like one of those chocolate chip cookie recipes with the pudding mix. They’re a little firmer and cakier. But still moise and tender.

I stored these in a sealed container and the next day, they were still moist and tender. The fireman likes a more crisp cookie, so he wasn’t as fond of them the second day, but the youngest boy said he likes chewy, moist cookies. He loved them, he said they’re not as sweet, but the chocolate is more obvious in them.

I drained and rinsed a can of garbanzo beans, then ran them through a food processor. You want to process them until it’s as fine as possible, so you don’t get chunks of bean in the cookie. I creamed my butter, eggs and sugar/sweetener, then added the beans.

Then, I added vanilla, salt, baking powder, baking soda and half the flour, mixing some and then adding the rest.

Then, preheat the oven to 350 and scoop ’em out.

You can press them down if you’d like, they don’t spread out much at all.

I cooked them for about 12 minutes per pan.

The weird part about it? Because of all the beans, once you eat 2 or 3 of them, you’re kinda full.

Kind of addictive, though. Neat flavor.

And they were great filling treats for football games. This year, the girl has taken up cheer leading and had her first game on Sunday, Labor Day. Yep, good game treat….

The Recipe:

Chocolate Chip Cookies with Garbanzo Beans

2 eggs
1 cup margerine
1 cup brown sugar (I used 1/2 cup brown baking sweetener and 1/2 cup brown sugar)
1 can garbanzo beans, drained, rinsed and food processed finely
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp vanilla
2 cups flour
2 cups chocolate chips

Cream sugar, butter and eggs with a mixer, or by hand. Use a food processor to grind up the beans until very fine. Add to the sugar mixture with the remaining ingrediens, working the flour in slowly. Stir in the chocolate chips and nuts if desired. Refridgerate dough for at least an hour, up to 48 hours. Bake at 350 for about 12 minutes.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies with Garbanzo Beans

  1. Jana H. says:

    Hmmm…gotta say, I’m mostly with your fireman on this one. I like a flatter, chewy/crisp cookie than cakey/moist. Although I am intrigued by the thought of all that fiber in a cookie. lol I may hafta try them anyway just to satisfy that curiosity. And maybe if I pressed them down some they wouldn’t be quite as cakey?

    In the meantime, how cute is your girl in her cheer uniform? TOTALLY CUTE. 😀

  2. JenMarie's Cafe says:

    I think they’d still taste the same, maybe if you reduced the flour a bit and baked some trial cookies. That might work. They’re just very soft, fluffy cookies.

    Geez! I can’t get OVER how big she looks in that cheer outfit with the ribbons and the…cheering. It’s crazy.

Leave a Reply

