Canning Tomatoes

I’m finally close to getting my own laptop. Seriously. And when I do, I’ll be able to post again, you know, like more than once a week. I’m not sure I’ve even got in that many lately.

I hope I haven’t lost ALL my friends out there. It’s been a weird transition and I miss posting all the time.

I actually have tomato sauce on the stove right now nearly ready to go into a water bath canner. I really wish I could have shared that with you all. It smells wonderful. We didn’t get too many tomatoes this year from our garden, even though we had TONS of tomatoes. The heat this summer just about killed all of our vegetable plants. And we watered nearly every night.

My parents were a little more vigilant and their garden is better than mine. They brought down a nice box of tomatoes that I peeled with the help of the fireman and we cooked them down with diced onions, green bell peppers and celery. I’m about to throw them in the water bath canner to finish them off and we’ll have about 10 pints of yummy wonderfuly flavored stewed tomatoes.

They’re really good as a base to casseroles or pretty much anything. Sometimes I like to add ground hamburger meat and black beans and just eat it like that.  Sorry for the lack of pictures, I’ll be back to my old self, full force after August is over.

Promise.

This last weekend, we had our annual block party and had sloppy joes. My parents came down for it, they like our neighbors. 🙂

We had two big crock pots full of sloppy joes, one sweeter, one more barbecue/spicy. We had one side of the street bring sides and the other bring desserts.  We always provide the meat and table service, then everyone tosses a few bucks in the donation bucket to defer the cost of that. It generally turns out great. And since we did it a little later this summer, it wasn’t so horribly hot. We hung out all afternoon. I love days like that.

We’re planning on doing it again in October with chili and desserts only. I think I’ll do a cider crock pot.

How are the rest of your summer’s going? We’re almost done with summer and fall is my all time favorite part of the year.

3 thoughts on “Canning Tomatoes

  1. Jana H. says:

    Sounds like you’ve been having a blast. Kudos on all the tomato juice. My sister and her hubs didn’t have much luck with their garden, either. My granny, however, canned several quarts of just about everything she planted. She tends that garden like it’s her baby. Plus, I think she spends a lot of time cultivating the soil and whatnot. The only thing I seem to cultivate is WEEDS. :-/

    I’ve missed “seeing” you regularly. Fingers crossed the new laptop comes through soon. 😀 Until then, take care and have fun!

  2. JenMarie's Cafe says:

    Thanks, Jana. I know, we never really ‘see’ each other, but I miss checking in with you every day for that post. 🙂

    Sarah, I know. That’s why i love this town. It’s a nice compromise between city living and country living. I still have neighbors, but I like them… 😉

Leave a Reply

