Apple Crisp

While we cut the apples up for the applesauce, we filled a 9×9 pan with cut apple slices as well.

I had plans for an apple crisp.

And after working with all those peaches and all those apples, our thumbs were wore out from the peeling/coring/cutting.

I used sweetener to lighten up the recipe some, and just sprinkled it over the apples. I also sprinkled cinnamon over the sweetener.

Then, I came up with a crisp topping. I used my mom’s old recipe, that’s delicious all on it’s own, by the way. But I also added some oatmeal to it to jazz it up a bit. I replaced the sugar with sweetener as well.

Whisk up an egg, add brown sugar/sweetener, salt, flour, baking powder and oatmeal. Use your fork to mix it up.

Once it’s all combined, it’ll be a little lumpy, scatter it over the apples.

Then, top with a little butter or margerine. Just cut little slices and set them around on top of the crisp.

I went light on it, but you could totally use more than this.

Then, pop into a preheated oven for 30 minutes, preferably just as you’re sitting down for supper. That way, after you’re done and sitting around chatting for a bit, you’ll smell the crisp and then hear one of the best sounds in the world.

The beep from the oven.

Oh, yeah!

The Recipe:

Apple Crisp, adapted from my momma

9×9 pan 1/2 to 3/4 full of peeld, cored and sliced apples *or about 5 medium apples
1/2 cup white sugar (I used Ideal brand sweetener)
1 tsp cinnamon
-Sprinkle sweetener and cinnamon over sliced apples
 
Topping: 1 1/2 cup brown sugar (I used Ideal brand brown baking sweetener)
1 cup flour, 1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 egg, whisked
1/2 cup oatmeal
1/2 tsp vanilla
-Fork together topping until crumbly, sprinkle over apples
-Slice a half to a stick of butter (1/4 – 1/2 cup) over crisp
-Bake at 375 for 30 minutes
 
Enjoy!
 
4 thoughts on “Apple Crisp

Leave a Reply

