Taco Seasoning Mix

Mexican food is like the holy grail of food, in my book at least. I love it. I love the heat, the layering of flavors, the chips….

Oh, the chips….

And fried tortillas? Don’t even get me started.

Well, a while back I was searching the pantry for a taco seasoning packet and found that we were out. Danger! Catastrophe!

Then I realized,  hey it’s just a bunch of seasonings mixed together. Surely, I can figure this out!

And I really wish I would have done it sooner, because I can adjust the flavors to make the perfect seasoning for my happy taste buds.

Plus, I can’t imagine that the storebought seasonings are terribly fresh, or the highest quality of each seasoning. I don’t always buy name brand seasonings, but I do keep them fresh it’s probably a sight lot better than the scraps they send for packaging. I could be totally wrong, but that’s my take.

The ending seasoning was fresh and full of flavor. I love it! My family does, too.

Disclaimer: I do not claim that this is remotely authentic. I just follow my tastebuds.

Feel free to make a large batch and keep as pantry stock. Next time you get rid of an old seasoning or use one up, wash it out and let it dry completely. Then, it’ll be a perfect storage option for this seasoning.

Obviously, I wasn’t as smart beforehand. This is 4 times the recipe.

Stay tuned for Friday! I have a Red Pepper Chipotle Sauce recipe to share…I have to do something with this seasoning now.

My kitchen smells like Mexican food…..hungry.

The Recipe:

Taco Seasoning Mix

1 Tbl chili powder
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp dried chives
1/4 tsp dried cilantro
1/2 tsp smoked paprika
1 1/2 tsp cumin
 
Mix all together and store in an airtight container or cleaned out seasoning shaker for up to 6 months.
 
To use combine 2 Tbl taco seasoning with 2 Tbl oil for a rub for steak and chicken or added to 1 pound of ground hamburger.
 
Enjoy!
One thought on “Taco Seasoning Mix

Leave a Reply

