Sangria

So, the fireman and I went on vacation together. We went to Big Cedar, just south of Branson, MO. On our way back, we got a late meal at Applebee’s. You know how they have half priced appetizers after 9pm? That was our meal. We ordered, like 5 of them. That’s just how we roll. We got queso dip, spinach artichoke dip, 2 orders of sliders (main course, ya’ll), and the wonton tacos *swoon*.  They said, that’s fine, but you do have to order something other than water to get the half price appetizers. The firemans all well, I think we can do that!

So, he orders sangria. He’d never had it.

I ordered a beer. I just didn’t want anything sweet.

When the waiter came back with our drinks, he said “You know, if I hadn’t taken your orders I would have given her the sangria, and you the beer…” We laughed. The fireman is a good sport. Man enough to be called girly. *grin*

Then, because we joked about it, we ended up getting other waiters coming by to tease him about his girly drink. He just grinned and joked back. He’s cool like that.

I told him, you know, we can make sangria at home, it’s easy.

“Really! Oh, let’s do that!” he said. He liked it a lot.

So, after we got home, my sister and her kiddos were visiting my mom and they all came down to our house for smoked chicken/ribs. My hubby knows how to grill! I told the fireman I’d make up a big pitcher of sangria that morning to soak up the flavors and we could drink it that evening. He was totally up for it. He even brought the fruit home for me.

The Recipe:

Sangria

2 bottles Cabernet wine ( I used Barefoot)
1 apple
2 limes
2 oranges
1/2 cup of fresh raspberries
 
Slice apples, limes and oranges into 1/2 inch slices and add them, plus the raspberries to the wine in a large pitcher. Give a good stir and let sit for 4-6 hours for the flavors to meld.
 
Enjoy!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 thoughts on “Sangria

  1. Jana H. says:

    LOL Yay for Fireman being such a good sport. 😉

    Never had a sangria. One of these years I’ll hafta try one. And if I weren’t such an old lady I’d hit up the half price appetizers. Because yeah. The appetizers is where it’s AT. But 9pm is after my bedtime. lol

  2. JenMarie's Cafe says:

    He is a good sport. 🙂

    I know, and I didn’t feel the least bit guilty buy ordering all half-priced appetizers. hehe

    We aren’t normally out that late either, so when we get the chance, it’s ON!.

Leave a Reply

