Painting the Moon

So, I finally decided it was time to continue on with my wall mural. This is behind the dining room wall.

The wall to the right of this mural has a window and ends with a barn beam we erected last year.

I decided it needed a moon on it. So I grabbed a dinner plate and some chalk…

 It’s barely visible, but there’s a circle up there drawn in chalk. I walked around it, moved it a bit and decided I liked it there, size and location and filled it in with plain white paint.

I did the majority of this in one night. I had chalked it in a week or more earlier, making certain it’s how I wanted it. Then, I painted this just to give it some base. That green is dark and I had to make it white before I could add anything to it. It only took 30 minutes or so to dry.

Then I threw some chunky colors in to see what I liked and what I didn’t like, then topped with more white to blend in and ‘push’ the colors back.

I then added a halo around the moon. I had to use a lot of water and just white paint. I kept messing with it, deciding how much I wanted.

I kind of liked this, but it wasn’t completely even. Not that I wanted it perfectly symetrical, but still…

Also, I wanted the glow to be larger. Big and bold. I did sleep on it a few days. I only finished the last bit of it last night.  It didn’t take me long, and I had to get a light to see exactly how it was visible at each part of the day.

 That’s my final product. I’m happy with it.

From further away. And withought that light on it, the halo effect isn’t as extreme.

So, the qualities change depending on the time of day and the lighting. I like that.

Whatcha think?

5 thoughts on “Painting the Moon

    • Jana H. says:

      Awe, you’re plenty creative. All creative types require a little inspiration to point them in the right direction. It’s true for writers, too. 😉

  1. JenMarie's Cafe says:

    Speaking of which, I wanna know what happens to Jenna on Kessler County Chronicles…… You totes left us hanging. Actually, I’m more interested in her brother. He’s hot!

Leave a Reply

