Zucchini Coins with Dill

So, my big news that kept me busy last week is that I accepted a new job! It’s not in aviation anymore, but it’s with a large corporation where I will have lots of room to grow. It’s a super opportunity and a big-time job for me. I’m excited! So, when I do end up starting there, * I have a few weeks* I may be a little light with the postings for a while. I’ll try to have some extra posts ready to help with the fill-in, though.

I made this because when I’m overwhelmed with planning and thoughts, I like to cook. It helps me wind my head down, if that makes any sense.

There are a few things that I just love dill with, zucchini is one of them. I think it’s just one of those things where the two flavors complement each other.

It’s also a fairly healthy and fast side dish.

And a good way to use your zucchini, if you happen to be growing it.

I’m funny here, I add a splash of olive oil, swirl it around and then add a little butter. I think the combination of the two is nice. I like the olive oil for health and temp, but the butter for flavor.

Cut your zucchini fairly thin and get your oil/butter nice and hot, then add your zucchini.

Just toss it around a bit to coat.

Then add minced onion, garlic, salt, pepper and dill. If you want to use fresh diced onions, that would be amazing, I’m just lazy. I only wanted a small amount for myself and didn’t want to chop a whole onion and get my hands all stinky.

If you’re using fresh onions, sautee them first, then add your zucchini to the cooked onions.

Just stir this around as it cooks over medium-high heat. Stir fairly often, to keep from burning.

It should only take about 5-7 minutes, depending on the thickness of your zucchini and the doneness you prefer. I like mine to be fairly cooked, mostly translucent, but with still a little crunch. Otherwise, they get a little too soft for me. The more translucent they get, the more cooked they are. I like mine about 75% translucent as you can see below.

See? I told you it was easy.

Tastes like summer.

The Recipe:

Zucchini Coins with Dill

1 medium zucchini
2 tsp olive oil
1 tsp butter ( I used margerine)
1/4 tsp salt
1/8 tsp pepper
1/4 tsp garlic
1/2 tsp dill
 1 tsp dried minced onion or (1/2 medium sauteed onion)
 
Cut zucchini in rounds, about 1/4 in thick. Heat skillet with oil and butter, once hot, add zucchini. Stir around coating with oil and let start to cook for a minute, then add seasoning. Cook, stirring fairly often for 5-7 minutes or until preferred doneness.
Enjoy!
 
 
8 thoughts on “Zucchini Coins with Dill

  1. Sarah says:

    I love to do this with crooked neck squash that is so popular down here in the south! You need to make that zucchini bread that mom and grandma love to make. That sure uses up that zucchini and you can freeze it. 🙂

  2. JenMarie's Cafe says:

    I have some crook neck squash in my garden, too! I really like to mix the two and make it like this. Pretty and tasty.
    Oh, zucchini bread sounds amazing! I’ll have to make it and post about it. 🙂

    • JenMarie's Cafe says:

      Really?! Man, around here EVERYbody grows it and EVERYbody has so much they’re giving it away. One of these days we’ll wise up, until then, we’ll just come up with creative uses for zucchini.

Leave a Reply

