Baked Salsa Chicken

Last night, when I got home from work, the weather was perfect and the fireman suggested going on a walk. We ended up being gone, walking and talking for nearly an hour. *I think he missed me while I was gone* The girl was at her dad’s and the boys were elsewhere. So, we really enjoyed the down time. It was nice to get my workout in and be able to chat it up with the hubby.

So, when we got home, it was later than I thought it would be. We decided that this would be a good meal because it doesn’t take a lot of prep work and doesn’t take a lot of time baking. And as you know, we like spicy foods. This isn’t terribly spicy, but it’s got a decent kick to it. You can make it less spicy by not using as much or any chili powder.

I did a quick arm workout with weights while the fireman thawed out some chicken breasts. Then, I cut them in half widthwise, this makes them cook faster and turn out more moist since they’re not overcooked.

I put them on a foiled, greased jelly roll pan and salted, peppered and chili powdered. Yes, I’m aware that I made that word up. You know what I mean…

And yes, I also know that uncooked chicken, just looks gross…

Then, I sprinkled with finely shredded mozzerella, but a good melty mexican cheese would work great, too. And poured over a good bit of salsa on top of each piece.

You could alternatively pour the salsa on first, then cheese it. I’ve done it both ways and don’t know which way I like best. They’re both good. I like that the salsa gets all thick and saucy, but I also like the cheese to brown a bit. So, go with however sounds best for you.

This is the best part. Stick this in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes. That’s it. Because the chicken isn’t thick and the cheese and sauce helps it from drying out.

The Recipe

Baked Salsa Chicken

4 chicken breasts
salt
pepper
chili powder
1 cup mozzarella cheese or mexican melting cheese
1 cup salsa
 
Slice breasts width-wise, so that they are thinner, lay on a greased, foiled jelly roll pan. Salt and pepper and sprinkle with chili powder to taste. Top with mozzarella cheese and salsa. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes. Serve. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
4 thoughts on “Baked Salsa Chicken

  1. Jana H. says:

    Chili powdered…:D I totally knew what you meant.

    Another one for the list, for sure. I’ll bet black bean salsa would work well here, too. I love that stuff…the kind with black beans and corn? It’s all chunky delicious. Mmmm…HUNGRY.

  2. Jana H. says:

    I get it from Wal-Mart. Great Value brand. It’s like regular salsa except it has black beans and corn in it. I like all that extra stuff. 🙂

  3. JenMarie's Cafe says:

    I’ll keep an eye out for it. It sounds awesome.
    I really like Bush’s Black Bean Fiesta. A lot of times I use it in place of refried beans with tacos/nachos/burritos. I like the mix with the beans.

Leave a Reply

