Mom’s Meatloaf

Surprisingly, my daughter even requests this meal. The boys love it and the fireman professes that it’s in the top 5 meatloaf recipes he’s ever had. This coming from a man that orders it at every truckstop and Mom & Pop restuarant he comes across. He loves meatloaf.

He makes this meatloaf at the firestation, except he makes 5 pounds worth.  He tells me he always credits me for the recipe. But, it’s not true. It’s actually from my mom. And I only slightly adapted it. She gave me this recipe about 7 or 8 years ago. When she gave me the recipe, I didn’t think I would try it. I mean, I don’t like meatloaf. I had it as a kid, and never liked her meatloaf. But she had come across a new recipe that she liked and wanted me to try it.

It took me nearly 6 months to try it. I just didn’t think I’d like it. Oh, how I was wrong. And now, it’s a staple on our rotation. I normally make 3 pounds worth because the kids love leftovers and the fireman loves cold meatloaf sandwiches. *ew*

You could use homemade breadcrumbs and herbs and minced onion and beef bullion, etc… But I don’t live my life worried about every recipe being homemade. Sometimes the best recipes are the ones with a few prepared items. This is one of them. Stove Top’s Savory Herbs has the perfect mix of seasonings and the larger chunks of breadcrumbs makes this meatloaf wonderful. The fireman says Stove Top’s Cornbread stuffing is great, too with the same seasonings, but different breadcrumbs. I also use onion soup mix. I also mix in just a little water to help it combine. I don’t use an egg. Weird. I know.

Mix with your hands *or a large wooden spoon* and then form into loaves. Since I doubled the recipe, I had 2 loaves. They cook more evenly. That’s also why I form them into shorter, wider loaves.

No, that’s not true. The real reason that I form them into shorter, wider loaves is that it gives more surface area for the meatloaf sauce. I love meatloaf sauce.

It’s another one of those throw-together sauces. It’s just kethup, mustard and brown sugar. I use Ideal’s brown baking sweetener.

Bake the loaves, covered. When they’re done, there will be some liquid that has cooked out of the meat. Just use your lid to hold the meat in and pour out any excess liquid. Then, loving cover with this super special sauce.

Then return to the oven, uncovered for 3-5 minutes so that the sauce can thicken and caramelize a little.

Even if you’re not a meatloaf lover, you may change your tune.

Just don’t forget the sauce.

The Recipe:

Mom’s Meatloaf

1 1/2 lbs ground beef (I used 90% lean)
1 envelope onion soup mix
3/4 cup Stove Top’s Savory Herb stuffing
1/4 cup water
Sauce- 1/2 cup ketchup, 2 tsp mustard, 1/4 scant cup of brown sugar (I used brown baking sweetener)
 
-Combine in bowl, don’t overmix, press into loaf shape in a dish with sides to catch excess grease. Cover and bake at 350 for about 30 minutes. Sauce the loaf liberally, then bake uncovered for 3-5 minutes. Serve.
3 thoughts on “Mom’s Meatloaf

  1. Jana H. says:

    Hmmm…I haven’t made a meatloaf since I was a teenager. I know, right? A teenager making meatloaf? But my middle sister and I were in charge of cooking once my mom started working. I don’t even recall now what recipe we used. But it had a soupy sauce that you had to baste the loaf with during cooking to keep it moist. It was a major hassel but it was good.

    This recipe sounds really easy, though, so I may give it a go. Personally, I’m a fan of Paula Deen’s bacon cheddar meatloaf. It has bacon and cheddar inside (duh) and french fried onion rings sprinkled on top of the sauce. YUM. I never make it, though because, well, I’m lazy like that. But your recipe sounds easy enough I might could tempt myself into making it. 😉

  2. Fritz Schoenbein says:

    Jana- I’ll field this one, since my beautiful blogging wife is out of town for a few days. She’s right, I have eaten and do eat meatloaf whenever possible, and I will confess to absolutely loving this recipe. (of course- I’m partial to the cook) This recipe is easy and never a meat brick that most oatmeal or cracker crumb recipes can be. I have made this at the FD using 1/2 beef-1/2 turk, but it’s a lot easier to just use good lean beef. Try Jen’s mashed turnups as a side and you’ve got a plate of almost guilt free pleasure. Hope you enjoy. Fyrman

Leave a Reply

