Jalepeño Barbecue Hamburger Steaks

It’s no secret that the fireman and I like to eat spicy foods. We really love our Moonshiner Burgers http://jenmarie80.blogspot.com/2012/01/moonshiner-burgers.html , but sometimes I just want to use up leftover hamburgers in the fridge and whip up a quick sauce for them. Everytime I make it, I think I’m pretty brilliant, cause it’s just so great. I’m sure I’m not the first one to figure out how good barbecue sauce and jalepeño’s are, but I still pat myself on the back for a yummy dinner.

Besides, I’m going to fly down to see my sister in Georgia next week and I have some serious Vacationitis going on. It’s a problem.

If you don’t have cooked hamburger patties, just make up a pound of hamburger meat, in any size patties you like. Then, dice up a small onion, or a half of a large onion. We’re looking at about 1/2 cup minced onions. Cook them until they are nice and tender, and slightly browned.

Then, deglaze the pan with beef broth and barbecue sauce. Add your jalepeño’s here, too. Let this come to a boil and simmer until the sauce thickens, about 5 minutes. Then, add your patties back in the sauce, turn to coat. Cover and let sit in the liquid for another 5 minutes to rewarm your patties and to let the sauce get into the meat.

 

At this point, your husband is going to be asking what wonderful thing you are cooking for him, because your kitchen smells like a million bucks.

Not that I’d know what a million bucks smells like. But I like to pretend. The sauce is rich and a little spicy. You can half the jalepeño’s if it’s too spicy.

I dish up 2 patties per person, which is about a half a pound of meat, but the extra protein is good for your metabolism! Actually, the peppers are, too. It’s slightly sweet from the barbecue sauce and a little warm from the peppers, but not fire in your mouth.

Yum. I want this right now. And if you double the recipe, you can have leftovers, which are amazeballs.

The Recipe:

Jalepeño Barbecue Hamburger Steaks

4 cooked hamburger patties, or about a pound worth
1/2 cup diced onion (I used 1 small onion)
1/2 cup beef broth
1/2 cup barbecue sauce (I used KC Masterpiece Honey Barbecue *is there another kind?)
1/3 cup jarred jalepeño’s, drained
1 Tbl olive oil
 
Saute onion in the olive oil (unless you just cooked the hamburgers, then just pour out extra grease) until translucent, about 2 minutes. Deglaze the pan with beef broth, add barbecue sauce and jalepeño’s. Bring to boil and simmer for about 5 minutes or until the sauce is nice and thick. Add your hamburger meat back in, turning to coat. Cover and let cook for an additional 5 minutes to rewarm and let the sauce penetrate.
 
Serve with additional sauce spooned over.
2 thoughts on “Jalepeño Barbecue Hamburger Steaks

  1. Jana H. says:

    BBQ Sauce is a cure all for most leftovers. 😀 The addition of the jalepenos looks good, too. My dad would LOVE this, I’ll bet. He’s all up in some jalepenos. hehehe

    Have fun visiting with your sister. Sisters are the bomb dot com, amiright? 😉

Leave a Reply

